Munich School of Management

Links and Functions
Language Selection

Breadcrumb Navigation



The Master’s programme is a two-year, full-time programme with restricted admission. It is divided into four semesters, within which 120 ECTS points have to be achieved. The Master’s programme is composed of five modules:



Basic principles (18 ECTS points)

Basic methods in business administration, managerial economics, and related areas. This course builds on students’ generic knowledge of business administration, which they will have derived from their Bachelor’s degree or Diploma programmes.

Subject-specific basics (18 ECTS points)

All students have to choose two out of the five fundamental courses in each of the five competency fields (Accounting, Finance & Insurance, Marketing & Strategy, Innovation, Leadership & Human Resources).

Subject-specific consolidation (30 ECTS points)

All students have to achieve 15 ECTS points in one of the four key competency fields. The additional 15 ECTS points can be achieved in any of the four fields.

Project studies (24 ECTS points)

The project study is a special feature of the LMU Master’s programme. Students have to take two project classes, in which they work in small peer groups to solve complex projects, drawn either directly from practice or based on realistic background materials.

Master’s thesis (30 ECTS)

The final step in the Master of Science degree is the composition of a thesis. The Master’s thesis has to be written within 22 weeks, and has a length of 150,000–160,000 characters (including spaces), equivalent to approx. 70 Din A4 pages.