Munich School of Management

Links and Functions
Language Selection

Breadcrumb Navigation


History of the faculty

Since the mid-eighteenth century Teaching of cameral sciences at the university of the city of Ingolstadt (Universität Ingolstadt).
1796 Foundation of a institute for cameral sciences ("Kameralinstitut") at the Universität Ingolstadt as state economics faculty ("Staatswirtschaftliche Fakultät"), in anticipation of the move to the city of Landshut (Universität Landshut), not yet officially as a faculty.
1804 Establishment of two sections instead of the faculty division at the Universität Landshut. In the section for special sciences ("Sektion I für Besondere Wissenschaften") in third place political and cameral sciences ("Staatswissenschaften und Kameralistik") were named.
1826 Official founding of the state economics faculty ("Staatswirtschaftliche Fakultät").
1948 Inclusion of training for graduate merchants ("Diplom-Kaufleute", "Diplom-Handelslehrer") from the technical university of Munich ("Technische Hochschule München (TH München)", today's "Technische Universität München (TUM)") in the state economics faculty.
1949/50-1959/60 The number of students in Business Administration skyrockets from 746 in 1949/50 to 2,500 in 1959/60. On that account, the number of chairs is increased.
1971 Separation of the state economics faculty in the state economics faculty and the faculty of forestry ("Forstwissenschaftliche Fakultät").
1974 Separation of the state economics faculty in the faculty of business administration ("Betriebswirtschaftliche Fakultät") and the economics faculty ("Volkswirtschaftliche Fakultät"), against the background of the transformation of the faculties of the University of the city of Munich ("Universität München") on the occasion of the integration of the college of education ("Pädagogische Hochschule München-Pasing") in 1972.
1996 Introduction of the credit point system.
1999 Introduction of postgraduate studies in business administration ("Postgraduales Studium Betriebswirtschaftliche Forschung").
Since 2001 Development of faculty through additional chairs in the fields "Innovation" and "Leadership and Learning".
Since 2005 Introduction of the Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.), the Master of Science (M.Sc.) and two fee-based master degree programs.